One of the major keys of good health is the flow of Chi. This is why the Chakras are so important. Think of the chakra system as a model for the flow of energy that runs through all life and through the human energy system. A ladder that takes us from the physical realm of substance up through the workings of the higher mind and spirit, and into the realm of the Divine Consciousness. Over the next couple of weeks we will delve into the significance and healing of the first three Chakras.

The first of the energy centers or chakras is the root chakra. The root chakra is very important. It is the foundation for all of the other chakras. It is the key for healing because it houses the Hui Yin acupressure point. It’s key for healing the reproductive system and immune system; for healing the anus, rectum and sexual organs; also for sexual power. The root chakra is located at the base of the body at the perineum and draws energy from the magnetic field at the earths’ core. Most people are unaware that the root chakra governs the adrenal cortex, (on the upper part of each kidney) which is the storehouse for inherited ancestral energy. It also holds the qualities of vitality, courage, stamina, and resilience.

When this energy center is blocked or not functioning correctly you could have negative attitudes and mindsets that deal with despair and victimhood. Which can generate hateful, violent feelings. These feelings emerge when we feel threatened and overwhelmed. We may experience thoughts as “It’s not worth it”, “I don’t want to be here anymore”; and a disassociation from life and a lack of trust in its innate goodness.

A healthy root chakra will bring about positive attitudes to a spiritual belief in the goodness of life. You trust and have a sense of belonging. You know there is love, support, and care to get you through difficult and challenging times.

Here are some things that we can attribute to the healing and maintaining of good health for the root chakra.

Positive Affirmations for the Root Chakra:

I am stable and secure.

I belong wherever I am.

I accept myself as I am.

I am grateful for the experiences of my life.

I affirm my right to the life I know I want.

Color: Red

Musical note: C

Element: Earth

Essential oils: Cinnamon, garlic, sandalwood, Ylang Ylang

Crystals: Ruby, bloodstone, hematite

Metal: Lead

Plant: Sage

Foods: Root vegetables, apples, and pomegranates

Qualities: Patience, structure, stability, security, the ability to manifest your dreams.

Physical Activities: Yoga, movement of any kind that activates the legs and feet. Any form of activity that is grounding, physical and demands presence

Spiritual Activities: Noticing the beauty and perfection of the natural world

Sound: Hei

Body Position: Sit on your hand (Right for women, Left for men) with the palm under the perineum. Put the other hand on your lower abdomen and chant Hei. It vibrates and strengthens the root chakra.

Look out for the next post as we continue on with the Second Chakra.

Please follow and like us: